D6
D6

| Sustainability

Digital Warm-up

Digital Warm-up on November 12, 2020

Sustainability

Digital Warm-up on November 12, 2020

Sustainability at DESY and Helmholtz speeds up

Clear commitment at the Helmholtz Association's Mini-Sustainability Summit

The great interest in sustainability throughout the research centers of the Helmholtz Association and the demands for concrete action are enduring. This became clear during the Digital Warm-up for the Helmholtz Sustainability Summit on 12 November 2020, which many employees from various Helmholtz centers attended. The event gave a foretaste of the next Helmholtz Sustainability Summit, which was originally scheduled to take place at DESY this November and was postponed to April 2021 due to the corona pandemic.

In a one-and-a-half hour online format, "Societal responsibility in research" was discussed. The main focus was on the "how" and not the "what" of research. Far-reaching reflection criteria on the impact of research are addressed: Do I as a scientist work transparently? How do I deal with complexities and uncertainties? Does my research possibly have societal impacts that I have not yet considered? These and similar questions were discussed during the Digital Warm-Up.

Starting point for the debate was a research project at DESY whose vision sounds a bit like science fiction: Will wooden houses come out of 3D printers in the future? A joint research team from the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) Stockholm and DESY has produced the strongest known biomaterial to date from cellulose nanofibers. The biodegradable fibers are stronger than steel and more tensile than spider silk. The scientists see a number of promising applications for the material. For example, it could be used as an alternative to plastics for cars and airplanes or as rotor blades for wind turbines, and thus has the potential to reduce the use of plastics or packaging material.

More than 100 people took part in voting via an online tool and asked many interesting questions. These revolved around raw material charge, energy use, applicability and above all climate protection. There were heated discussions with Stephan Roth, Senior Scientist at DESY and Professor at KTH, his PhD student Calvin Brett and Science Manager Nele Müller. At the end of the discussion, the challenge of freedom of research versus control of research was highlighted.

At the end of the Warm-up, Christian Harringa, Administrative Director at DESY, presented the brand new commitment to sustainable development of the Helmholtz Association. For the sustainability officers of the centers, the last sentence was particularly important: "This commitment is connected with the aspiration to promptly take up actions [...] in order to develop, actively implement and report on measures and goals for the sustainable development of the centers and thus also of the Helmholtz Association.” A voluntary commitment that must now be fulfilled.

Interview with Stephan Roth at helmholtz.de (in German)

Commitment of the Helmholtz Association to its sustainable development (in German)

More information about the 2. Sustainability Summit on 19. and 20. April 2021 (in German)

 

A clear vote for a sustainable development of the HGF
(Picture: DESY/D. Völker).

The warm-up event from a graphic recorder perspective
(Picture: DESY/A.L. Schiller; Riesenspatz).

D6
D6

| Nachhaltigkeit

Digital Warm-up

Digital Warm-up am 12. November 2020

Nachhaltigkeit

Digital Warm-up am 12. November 2020

Nachhaltigkeit bei DESY und Helmholtz gewinnt weiter an Schwung

Klares Bekenntnis auf dem Mini-Sustainability Summit der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

Das große Interesse an Nachhaltigkeit in den Forschungszentren der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und die Forderungen nach konkreten Handlungen sind ungebrochen. Das wurde beim Digital Warm-up zum Helmholtz Sustainability Summit am 12. November 2020 deutlich, an dem sich viele Beschäftigte aus den verschiedensten Helmholtz-Zentren beteiligten. Die Veranstaltung gab einen Vorgeschmack auf den nächsten Helmholtz-Nachhaltigkeitsgipfel, der ursprünglich in diesem November bei DESY stattfinden sollte und wegen der Corona-Pandemie auf April 2021 verschoben wurde.

In einem anderthalbstündigen Online-Format wurde über „Forschen in gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung“ diskutiert. Hierbei geht es vor allem um das „Wie“ und nicht das „Was“ der Forschung. Adressiert werden weitreichende Reflexionskriterien zur Wirkung der Forschung: Arbeite ich als Wissenschaftler*in transparent? Wie gehe ich mit Komplexitäten und Unsicherheiten um? Hat meine Forschung möglicherweise gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen, die ich noch nicht in Betracht gezogen habe? Diese und ähnliche Fragen wurden beim Digital Warm-Up diskutiert.

Kernpunkt der Debatte war ein Forschungsprojekt bei DESY, dessen Vision sich ein wenig wie Science Fiction anhört: Kommen Holzhäuser in Zukunft aus dem 3D-Drucker? Ein gemeinsames Forschungsteam der Königlich-Technischen Hochschule (KTH) Stockholm und DESY hat aus Zellulose-Nanofasern das bislang stärkste bekannte Biomaterial hergestellt. Die biologisch abbaubaren Fasern sind stärker als Stahl und zugfester als Spinnenseide. Die Wissenschaftler*innen sehen eine Reihe viel versprechender Anwendungen für das Material. Zum Beispiel käme es als Kunststoffalternative für den Einsatz in Autos und Flugzeugen oder als Rotorblätter von Windenergieanlagen in Frage und hat damit auch das Potenzial, Plastik oder Verpackungsmaterial zu reduzieren.

Über 100 Menschen beteiligten sich über ein Online-Tool an Abstimmungen und stellten viele spannende Fragen. Diese rankten sich vor allem um die Themen Rohstoffeinsatz, Energieeinsatz, Anwendbarkeit und vor allem Klimaschutz. Mit Stephan Roth, Leitendem Wissenschaftler bei DESY und Professor an der KTH, seinem Doktoranden Calvin Brett sowie der Wissenschaftsmanagerin Nele Müller wurde heiß diskutiert. Am Ende der Diskussion wurde nochmals das Spannungsfeld zwischen Freiheit der Forschung und Steuerung von Forschung beleuchtet.

Zum krönenden Abschluss des Warm-ups präsentierte Christian Harringa, Administrativer Direktor bei DESY, im Namen der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft das brandneue Bekenntnis zu deren nachhaltiger Entwicklung. Für die Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragten der Zentren war dabei besonders der letzte Satz wichtig: „Mit diesem Bekenntnis wird der Anspruch verbunden, zeitnah Aktivitäten […] aufzunehmen, um Maßnahmen und Ziele zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung der Zentren und somit auch der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft zu erarbeiten, aktiv umzusetzen und zu berichten.“ Eine Selbstverpflichtung, die es jetzt zu erfüllen gilt.

Interview mit Stephan Roth auf helmholtz.de

Bekenntnis der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft zu ihrer nachhaltigen Entwicklung

Weitere Informationen zum 2. Sustainability Summit am 19. und 20. April 2021

 

Ein eindeutiges Votum für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung der HGF
(Bild: DESY/D. Völker).

Die Warm-up-Veranstaltung aus Graphic-Recorder-Sicht
(Bild: DESY/A.L. Schiller; Riesenspatz).